Birthday Card Making – Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine & Paper Smooches Spectrum Card Idea

Another March birthday card made for a friend. I wanted to use the Paper Smooches Spectrum unicorn stamp for this one and I knew I wanted to remake the unicorn from a February birthday card I made as I had a lot of fun making that one. I wanted the card to be bright and cheery so I chose the ‘Hello Sunshine’ yellow pattern paper from the Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine 6 x 6 paper pack.

Lawn-Fawn-Hello-Sunshin-Card-Idea

I made the unicorn in the same way as the February birthday card by stamping the unicorn multiple times on different coloured cardstock and then cutting out a different pattern paper for each section of the unicorn’s mane and tail. When the unicorn was complete I played with the layout and decided the card looked a bit empty with just the unicorn and the yellow background. So I stamped a cloud from the Paper Smooches Spectrum stamp set onto scrap piece of white cardstock. I fussy cut the cloud out and then shaded it with my trusty Gunmetal Grey Derwent Studio pencil.

Paper-Smooches-cloud- Stamp-cardstock

I used a strip of scrap pattern paper in the same Lawn Fawn paper collection and I used embossing ink to stamp the sentiment ‘wishing you sunshine and rainbows’ from the same Paper Smooches Spectrum stamp set. I used WOW Embossing powder and then heat set it with the Ranger Heat It Craft Tool.

Paper-Smooches-Sentiment-Stamp-Embossed

Playing with the layout again, I decided to change the side the yellow pattern paper was on to the other side. I then adhered the pink strip of pattern paper in the middle of the yellow pattern paper (eyeballing it). And I cut a slit behind the unicorn’s front leg to be able to position the unicorn on the cloud. The card still appeared a little empty or didn’t seem to flow well together so I used a white gel pen to create a stitched border pattern around the yellow and pink pattern papers. I also drew a swirly line in the dashed pattern from the cloud to the sentiment to try and tie the card together more and was pleased with the results.

Paper-Smooches-Rainbow-Unicorn-Birthday-Card-Idea

When all that was done, I went absolutely nuts with the wink of stella clear glitter pen. I went all over the unicorn and the yellow background with the glitter pen.

Wink-of-stella-glitter-pen-addiction

 

Leave a comment