Multi-Media Art Journal 1 – Layout 1 – Part 2 – Gesso

I didn’t feel I could do more with the Gelatos and colouring and I was really keen to try gesso and use the new stencils I had bought. So I went a little nuts. What I found when I was doing this, regardless of how tightly I held the stencil to the page or how little or how much gesso I used, it always seemed to seep through underneath ruining the stencil effect which is really noticeable on the lower right-hand side lines – or what are supposed to be lines but looks like a smudge. I had the most fun applying gesso to the border edges. And I think I’d like to do a gesso border again.

The stencils I used were Tim Holtz – Rays & Tim Holtz Dot Fade. They were $5 each which I thought was quite reasonable. Now I just need to practice to get better.

Art-Journal-Multi-Media-Layout-1-Faber-Castel-Gesso

Leave a comment