Multimedia Art Journal 1 – Layout 3 – Part 4 – Faber Castell Gesso with Tim Holtz Dot Fade Stencil

Faber-Castell-Gesso-Multimedia-Art-Journal-Tim-Holtz-Dot-Fade-Stencil

I just felt like the whole layout was a bit too bright and vibrant and I wanted to tone it down a little, especially if I’m going to have another sentiment or a quote on the page – which I’m still trying to brainstorm, but I didn’t know how I was going to desaturate the page. As it turned out when I was trying to add Tim Holtz Dot Fade stencil accents using gesso, I was continually mucking up the gesso, as I always seem to do when applying gesso, and when I mucked up, I just rubbed the gesso in a circle using a baby wipe and that’s what has created that cloudy effect that has really dulled down the colours in exactly the way I wanted. Such a beautiful mistake. I love the effect! As well as the smokey effect, as I had left some gesso dots on the page for a while before attempting to remove them with the baby wipe, I added a dimensional effect quite by accident. Really happy with how this multimedia art journal session turned out. But now I’m outta ideas!

Leave a comment