Birthday Card Making – Newtons Nook Birthday Card Idea – Bonjour Balloon Cat

Birthday-Card-Idea-Cute-Balloon-Cat-Newtons-Nook-Dreams-Of-Paris-Stamp

This was another quick birthday card I put together for a friend’s birthday. I was really happy with the way this card turned out considering my time constraints. I knew I wanted to use the cute kitty in the hot air balloon basket from the Newton’s Nook Newton Dreams of Paris stamp set, so I started by stamping that first. I fussy cut out the balloon and then cut out the cat and the basket. I stamped the cat again and cut only the cat out of this second stamp. This was so I could add a little dimension but also because of the way his tail curls around, I didn’t want any white space in the gap between his tail and the basket.

I coloured in the basket, the balloon and then the cat. I chose a yellow ray burst pattern paper from the Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine 6×6 petite paper pack. I’m actually quite amazed by how many cards I’ve made with this paper pack. It doesn’t sound like much but 36 pages really does go a long way, and I still have lots of scraps that I can use!

I adhered the ray burst directly onto the yellow card stock card base and then trimmed the edges (that’s why the left-hand side doesn’t look so straight haha). After that, I adhered the balloon, the basket and then the cat on top of the basket. I stamped the sentiment ‘bonjour’, also from the Newton Dreams of Paris stamp set, directly onto the pattern paper to the right of the hot air balloon.

To finish the card, I simply hand drew the lines of the balloon rope from the balloon to the basket and the rope line blowing away ending in a curl. I used my Memento tuxedo black ink pen. I really liked the hand drawn touch and used the original stamp as a guide. The rope line curling away I think helps add movement to the card as though the cat is floating along in the basket by the breeze. I think my friend should really like this card because of the cuteness factor so I can’t wait to hand it to her.

 

If you’re interested in seeing the other cards I’ve made using the Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine papers, you can check them out by clicking the links below:

Paper Smooches Nine Lives Stamp with Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine Paper Birthday Card Idea

Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine & Paper Smooches Spectrum Card Idea

Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine & Paper Smooches Spectrum Card Idea

Paper Smooches Spectrum & Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine Idea

Paper Smooches 9 Lives & Lawn Fawn Hello Sunshine Idea

Paper Smooches Nine Lives Stamp Set Birthday Card Idea – Cute Happy Cat Stamp

Paper Smooches Nine Lives Card Idea – Vicky Papaioannou Inspired

Paper Smooches Nine Lives Card Idea – Vicky Papaioannou Inspired

Birthday Card Making – Paper Smooches Spectrum – Vicky Papaioannou Inspired

Birthday Card Making – Paper Smooches Nine Lives Stamp

 

And if you’re interested in seeing the other cards I’ve made using the Newton’s Nook Newton Dreams of Paris stamp set, you can also check them out by clicking the links below:

Simon Says Stamp Card Kit March 2015 & Newtons Nook – Birthday Card Idea

Newtons Nook Birthday Card Idea – Seedy Moustache

 

Enjoy!

Leave a comment